Various Artists – Soul Jazz Records Presents Studio One Down Beat Special


In stock

SKU: 5026328005485 Categories: , Tags: ,


Soul Jazz Records’ ‘Down Beat Special’ is a roller-coaster Greatest Hits ride through many of the all-time classic tunes hand-picked from across the mighty vaults of, without doubt, Jamaica’s finest ever record label and pioneering powerhouse of reggae music. Seminal tracks such as Michigan and Smiley’s ‘Nice Up the Dance’, Dawn Penn’s ‘No, No, No’, The Wailers’ ‘Simmer Down’, The Eternals’ ‘Queen of the Minstrels’… and on it goes. Non-stop big tunes – ‘Down Beat Special’ is an essential primer to Studio One Records.

Disc 1
1. Queen of the Minstrels – The Eternals
2. Nice Up the Dance – Michigan and Smiley
3. Ten to One – Th Mad Lads
4. Totally Together – Jackie Mittoo
5. Just Say Who – Horace Andy
6. Addis Ababa – The Skatalites
7. Live Loving – Sugar Minott
8. Can’t Stand It – Lone Ranger
9. I’ve Got Burning Fire – Wailing Souls
10. Simmer Down – Bob Marley and The Wailers
11. Hooligan – Dub Specialist
12. Your Heart Is Gonna Pay – Alton Ellis
13. Do It Good – Roland Alphonso
14. You Should Have Known – Wailing Souls
15. No No No – Dawn Penn
16. You’ll Be Sorry – Freddie McKay
17. We Need Love – Alton Ellis
18. Best to Be Free – Cornel Campbell

Additional information


Vinyl / 12" Album

Artist Name

Various Artists

Release Date



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Various Artists – Soul Jazz Records Presents Studio One Down Beat Special”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *