Johnny Cash – American III: Solitary Man


1 in stock

SKU: 0600753441701 Category: Tag:


Between ‘American II: Unchained’ (1996) and ‘American III: Solitary Man’, Cash’s health declined due to various ailments, and he was even hospitalized for pneumonia, and the illness forced him to curtail his touring. This album contained Cash’s response to his illness, typified by a version of Tom Petty’s ‘I Won’t Back Down’, as well as a version of U2’s ‘One’. Changes to Cash’s voice due to his health problems are noticeable on most tracks when compared to his most recent preceding albums. Graeme Thomson has characterized ‘Solitary Man’ as an act of emotional preservation.

Disc 1
1. I Won’t Back Down – Johnny Cash (2.09)
2. Solitary Man – Johnny Cash (2.25)
3. That Lucky Old Sun (Just Rolls Around Heaven All Day) – Johnny Cash (2.35)
4. One – Johnny Cash (3.53)
5. Nobody – Johnny Cash (3.14)
6. I See a Darkness – Johnny Cash (3.42)
7. The Mercy Seat – Johnny Cash (4.35)
8. Would You Lay With Me (In a Field of Stones) – Johnny Cash (2.41)
9. Field of Diamonds – Johnny Cash (3.15)
10. Before My Time – Johnny Cash (2.55)
11. Country Trash – Johnny Cash (1.47)
12. Mary of the Wild Moor – Johnny Cash (2.32)
13. I’m Leavin’ Now – Johnny Cash (3.07)
14. Wayfaring Stranger – Johnny Cash (3.19)

Additional information


Vinyl / 12" Album

Artist Name

Johnny Cash

Release Date



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Johnny Cash – American III: Solitary Man”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *