Johnny Cash – American V: A Hundred Highways


6 in stock

SKU: 0600753441688 Category: Tag:


‘America V: A Hundred Highways’ is the final chapter in Johnny Cash’s celebrated American Recordings series. Once again produced by ZZ Top understudy Rick Rubin, the album features 12 selections taken from the country legend’s final 2003 recording sessions. A less flashy batch of tunes than the previous American entry (which saw the man in black singing on such square-peg covers as ‘Personal Jesus’ and a dazed Fiona Apple duet on ‘Bridge Over Troubled Water’), the record offers a genuinely warm epitaph to Cash’s influential career with weathered but spirited takes on Bruce Springsteen, Gordon Lightfoot, and Rod McKuen tunes, as well as his own ‘Like the 309’, which marks Cash’s last original composition put to tape. These songs are Johnny’s final statement. they are the truest reflection of the music that was central to his life at the time. This is the music that Johnny wanted us to hear.

Disc 1
1. Help Me – Johnny Cash (2.51)
2. God’s Gonna Cut You Down – Johnny Cash (2.38)
3. Like the 309 – Johnny Cash (4.35)
4. If You Could Read My Mind – Johnny Cash (4.30)
5. Further On Up the Road (Live 1990) – Johnny Cash (3.24)
6. On the Evening Train – Johnny Cash (4.17)
7. I Came to Believe – Johnny Cash (3.44)
8. Love’s Been Good to Me – Johnny Cash (3.18)
9. A Legend in My Time – Johnny Cash (2.37)
10. Rose of My Heart – Johnny Cash (3.18)
11. Four Strong Winds – Johnny Cash (4.34)
12. I’m Free from the Chain Gang Now – Johnny Cash (3.00)

Additional information


Vinyl / 12" Album

Artist Name

Johnny Cash

Release Date



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Johnny Cash – American V: A Hundred Highways”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *