Coleman Hawkins Encounters Ben Webster


15 in stock

SKU: 8436542010672 Categories: , Tag:


This 1957 date, produced by Norman Granz, finds the two tenors matching wits with accompaniment from Oscar Peterson, Herb Ellis, Ray Brown, and Alvin Stoller. From Hawkins’ screaming solo on the opener ‘Blues for Yolanda’ to the beautiful give-and-take on the ballads ‘It Never Entered My Mind’ and ‘Prisoner of Love’, this classic set is warm, lyrical and essential.

Disc 1
1. Blues for Yolande – Coleman Hawkins
2. It Never Entered My Mind – Coleman Hawkins
3. La Rosita – Coleman Hawkins
4. Cocktails for Two – Coleman Hawkins
5. You’d Be Nice to Come Home To – Coleman Hawkins
6. Prisoner of Love – Coleman Hawkins
7. Tangerine – Coleman Hawkins
8. Shine On Harvest Moon – Coleman Hawkins
9. La Rosita (Short Alternate Version) – Coleman Hawkins

Additional information

Artist Name

Coleman Hawkins

Release Date





There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Coleman Hawkins Encounters Ben Webster”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *